This could be the start of something new (feels so right to be here with you, woah)

As I write this, I am sat outside Pret A Manger eating half of a bacon-chicken-rocket baguette in a little courtyard which reeks of piss. The sky looks heavy and ominously grey, a bit of rocket lathered in Caesar mayonnaise has just hit my lap, and there’s some variety of rouge ectoplasm splattered across my table. I am very much regretting not getting my sandwich ‘to-go’.

Surely I could have picked a more comfortable place to produce a decent first blog post, but no. I chose the place with the worst seating arrangements I could find. The food, on the other hand, is lovely. Well worth it, uncomfortable chairs and alien table-leavings aside.

Tapping my tooth-scraped biro violently against the paper of my notebook, I found myself realising that where I am now is a perfect metaphor for blogging, The awkwardness of where I am sitting symbolises how initially my posts won’t be worth reading. They will be jagged and my writing style will fluctuate and spasm from post to post as I try to produce little articles which might warrant a read.

I’d like to think that the baguette is a metaphor for how delicious my posts will be once I have settled into the routine of blogging. I can write fairly decently, I promise, you just may not see that until about 5 posts in. I beg that you bear with me, you won’t be disappointed!

I have attempted starting a blog many times, all of which failed shamefully. After much thinking, I came to the sorry conclusion that my failure was down to how awkward I find it to literally be typing to myself! Many moons ago, I said “there is nothing more embarrassing than an unread blog post”, and I still definitely agree with that. I’m hoping I’ll gain an audience fast, because I really do feel as though I’m talking to myself.

Anyway, if you do choose to return here after reading this sad excuse for an introductory post, I hope to deliver opinion articles, top 10 lists, reviews, photography, or even some of my bad poetry if you’re lucky. Well, it is nearly Christmas after all. Maybe next time…

Leave a Reply

